Red Bean Gumbo

Red Bean Gumbo Mixed with Brown Jasmine Rice in Bowl

Red Bean Gumbo Mixed with Brown Jasmine Rice in Bowl

Red Bean Gumbo in a Pan
Red Bean Gumbo in a Pan
Chopped Green Pepper, Onion, Kale, & Celery with Pressed Garlic
Chopped Green Pepper, Onion, Kale, & Celery with Pressed Garlic
Red Bean Gumbo Ingredients
Red Bean Gumbo Ingredients

This is a Mary McDougall Newsletter Recipe. 

RED BEAN GUMBO

1/2 cup water
1 onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
1 teaspoon minced fresh garlic
6 cups vegetable broth
1  14.5 ounce can Cajun-style stewed tomatoes
1  8 ounce can tomato sauce
1 1/2 teaspoons ground oregano
1 bay leaf
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
several twists of fresh ground pepper
1  15 ounce can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1  15 ounce can red beans, drained and rinsed
4 cups chopped greens (kale, chard, spinach, etc.)
1/4 cup chopped parsley
2-4 cups hot brown basmati or jasmine rice

Place the water, onion, bell pepper, celery and garlic in a large pot.  Cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.  Add vegetable broth, tomatoes, tomato sauce and seasonings.  Bring to a boil, cover and cook over low heat for 15 minutes.  Add beans and greens (not parsley) and cook an additional 10 minutes.  Stir in parsley.

To serve, place 1/2 cup of the rice in the bottom of a soup bowl.  Ladle gumbo over the rice and mix well before eating.” 

Letha’s Notes:  I’ve never had traditional Gumbo but based on what I’ve read about it, the use of the word Gumbo to describe this recipe might be a bit of a stretch.  Plus I served it over brown jasmine rice which probably didn’t help to make it resemble authentic Gumbo.  I just love the smell of jasmine rice.  I liked this dish and in fact, of the many ways I’ve tried to eat kale this past year, this is my favorite.  I couldn’t find the Cajun-style stewed tomatoes called for in the recipe so I used diced tomatoes and a ½ teaspoon of Creole seasoning I picked up at the market.  I pressed the garlic instead of mincing it. I left out the parsley & used two cans of red beans instead of 1 red and 1 kidney, only because that’s what I had on hand.  While gathering the ingredients I grabbed the salt off the counter and it ended up in the photo of the ingredients but I didn’t use it in the recipe.  Lots of leftovers so if this holds up in the fridge it’s destined to become one of my new favorites.

3 Comments

  1. slugmom said,

    April 29, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Letha, thank you so much for posting your link to this! I made a ‘kimodified next-thing-to-instant’ version tonight and it’s SO good! I posted my quicky version on my journal for safekeeping, I’ll want to make this again! :-D I appreciate all you’ve done to make your recipes beautiful and accessible!

  2. kathleen said,

    May 25, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Hi. Thanks so much for this site. I have been eating gumbo most of my life and have made a veggie version a few times-never the same. A roux can be made without fat- just toast the flour in a pot. File is a good thickener as well. I’m not the great cook my mother is however I know a few tricks. I love seeing your recipes and plan to use them.

  3. February 21, 2012 at 9:26 am

    […] is the usual gumbo recipe in my family. It’s not uncommon for us to eat this once a week in winter. We use chard and […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

