Curried Red Lentil & Potato Soup

Curried Lentil & Potato Soup

Curried Lentil & Potato Soup

Soup ingredients.
Soup ingredients.

Curried Red Lentil & Potato Soup

 

1 onion diced

1 large sweet potato diced

3 medium white potatoes diced

2 cup red lentils

6 cups water

1 can diced tomatoes

2 teaspoons Spice Island Curry powder

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon sugar

 

Saute onion in a little water.  Add everything else and simmer 45 minutes.
Variations: Add 1 teaspoon minced garlic, 1 teaspoon grated ginger, 1 cup frozen chopped collard greens.

11 Comments

  1. Barbara said,

    December 5, 2008 at 7:12 am

    I tried making Mary’s Festive Dal soup and I just couldn’t stand it. Mostly because the lentils got cooked to mush. It’s like eating baby food. How did your lentils come out?

    Barbara

  2. lethalouise said,

    December 5, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Hi Barbara,
    I don’t think you would like this. Both the red lentils and the sweet potato dissolve and become like mush. I really enjoy this poured over brown rice.
    Letha

  3. ritesofpassage said,

    December 5, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    This looks and sounds great to me. I don’t mind mushy lentils at all. And I have everything to make it already! Sounds like lunch tomorrow!

    By the way, I am loving reading your recipes, and I really appreciate your extra simple ones — I think I make it too complicated sometimes and your recipes remind me that good, plain food can be easy, tasty, and nutritious. Thanks!

  4. lethalouise said,

    December 6, 2008 at 9:00 am

    ritesofpassage,
    Thanks for the positive feedback. If you try the soup I hope you like it. Take care.
    Letha

  5. Andrea said,

    January 10, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Just ate this – was lovely. I’m stuffed now…

    At the end I added some black and red pepper to taste and substitued the onion for asafoetida powder because I don’t like them.

    Loved it! Keep up your great blog x

  6. lethalouise said,

    January 10, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Hi Andrea,
    I appreciate the postive feedback on the blog. Glad you liked the soup.
    Letha

  7. Ala said,

    February 11, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Mmm, this was SO good. I whizzed some of it in the blender to make a creamier soup. GREAT site, I’m enjoying it!

  8. lethalouise said,

    February 12, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Ala,
    Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you liked it. I think I’m going to have to make some of this myself this week.
    Letha

  9. heidi said,

    September 8, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    mmm, I made a big pot of this today. It smelled SO good! I live in a culdesac, and had my front door open, and the armoa was wafting out into the neighborhood. I’m having a big scoop over a baked potato for dinner tonight…cain’t hardly wait!

  10. lethalouise said,

    September 8, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Glad you liked it Heidi. Thanks for leaving a comment.
    Letha

  11. donna mcfarland said,

    June 10, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Sounds exactly like the type of fast, easy soup i’ll love. Ehiopian food is all about really soft veggies tht you scoop up with a nan bread eh? this sounds just like that.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

